Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dairy-free / White Sauce (Gluten & Dairy free) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    White Sauce (Gluten & Dairy free)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2002

      This is a great recipe for anyone with celiac(gluten allergies) It has let me make a mousaka that is one of my wifes favorite things. I added egg yokes and baked the mousaka as I normally would and it was great JMike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      I have found that using rice flours for thickening agents in gravies and sauces works best if a fine ground flour is used. Bob's Mill white rice flour provides the best results of those that I have tried. A non hydrogenated buttery spread such as Earth Balance gives a buttery flavor - or olive oil can also be used for pasta with 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper for flavoring instead of the honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      My son is a celiac so most of the meals we have are celiac friendly. I have been using gluten free cornflour for a white sauce base. Last week I make a lasagna using rice sheet noodles for an Chinese grocery shop and this white sauce recipe as a base. I added an egg yolk to the sauce and grated cheese. OOOOOOOOOH my heavens. My son was in Lasagna heaven. He said it almost tasted like real cheese sauce. Thank you so much and my son thanks you. :-) He hates the white/cheese sauce made on the gluten free cornflour. LOL My son said for the celiacs of the world, this recipe gets a 5 star rating because it is so hard to good gluten free recpes that come close to the wheat/gluten products.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This sauce has potential. However, it needs more seasoning and it doesn't thicken up at all. I had to add arrowroot to get it to thicken. I wanted to use this as a sauce for a gluten/dairy free pizza. I added garlic/onion powders, nut. yeast, salt. I also used rice milk. I will try the leftovers over rice noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      My son is allergic to soy also (he is 2) so I used rice milk and regular flour (not allergic to gluten) and it was so cramy, it blended really well and was silky. I also used canola oil instead of soy butter. I added less honey because the rice milk is sweeter. The result was very yummy! Thank you! Allergies are hard to cook for sometimes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This turned out GREAT!!!! Everyone loved it. Very yummy!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Great sauce recipe, especially enjoyed by my daughters. The honey was a little different in a white sauce recipe. Was really delish served over our veges. I could imagine that it would also be really tasty coupled with salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      The white sauce was very easy and turned out so well! I served it over gf noodles with turkey breast and green and red peppers and onions stir-fried in olive oil. I added some salt for flavoring and substituted vegetable glycerin for the honey for a yeast-free diet. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for White Sauce (Gluten & Dairy free)

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.2
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    45%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 149.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 15.0 g
    60%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten-free flour

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites