14 Reviews

Such a lovely roast. This recipe has made my Thanksgiving the last three years running. The meatheads love it just as much as I do, too. Thanks for this awesome take on tofurkey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joop November 23, 2011

Really nice and worth the effort. This was my second time making it and I would agree with other reviewers that it's a bit salty- will have to remember that for Christmas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IandMe October 10, 2011

This was so fun to make! Just made it for Christmas dinner. I followed this recipe, taking note of the comments by other reviewers, and put it together using this woman's method: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AD9KmClX1Y . I have to say, I thought it was pretty adorable. I too used more tofu than in the recipe, and omitted agar agar since I didn't have any. The consistency was great and so tasty. For the stuffing I used spelt bread (#130875) which has loads of nuts and seeds in it. My only critique is that the overall taste is quite salty so I would be careful with that 1 tsp of salt, or even omit it all together next time. The picture I've posted was taken after the first baking, which was the night before our dinner. It was great to just throw it into the oven on Xmas day and not have to do anything but baste! Thanks and Happy New Year! UPDATE: made this again Dec 09 and followed your "log" method...like it better! It makes quite a few servings so I was able to cut it into 2 lovely looking roasts for 2 different dinners. It keeps really well. thx again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner December 26, 2009

This is such a great recipe. I have used it for two years in a row and just enjoy it so much. Guests are so surprised that it tastes so good! Thanks so much. The only downside is after freezing one and eating it some weeks later the stuffing was a bit too dry. But other than that, it is great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hydelrose November 30, 2009

This was amazing! I tried it at easter for myself and a few vegans. They loved it too. I made 2 smaller ones and froze one for later. Next time I'll make 4. The recipe was a bit time consuming, but very easy to make. Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meal Guru July 16, 2009

The tofu never solidified. I cooked it for as long as the recipe calls for + some. The flavor is ok.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat December 29, 2008

I tried this for the first time. It was easy to make. The bread is wonderful I am get ready to make it again. The tofu was good I would have add a little more salt or something a little bland. The dressing was the best I have had in a long time. I left the mushrooms out and used broccoli. I will be using this one again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maemeee December 28, 2008

We are new to vegan and did not know what to expect. Overall it went really well. I definitely needed two hands to fold it over and wrap, but it worked out with help. The only things I would change about the recipe is that I would double the "turkey� portion, spicy up the stuffing with some vegetables, dried fruit and nuts and cut the salt to about half as much. Other than that it was a really great first Tofurkey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KMuchetti December 17, 2008

Ok, I'm revising my review. I made this again for thanksgiving. It came out better this time. I didn't try to fold the tofu mix over the stuffing & I used a fraction of the stuffing suggested by the recipe. I used a loaf pan as a mold and flipped it onto the pan. Worked better. Got good reviews at the table and there was only about 1 piece leftover. I found this recipe difficult to work with. I finally gave up trying to wrap the turkey around the stuffing. I put the tofu in a bowl, scooped out some of the tofu then filled the cavity with stuffing. The put the tofu back over the stuffing and turned the bowl over the parchment paper. I liked the flavor, a bit salty but great. I will work with this again because I think that messing with the tofu and the stuffing for so long I incorporated too much of the stuffing with the tofu so it was over combined. Used corn starch over arrowroot, didn't notice much difference there. Used leftovers to make "turkey salad sandwiches".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megpell78 November 28, 2008

Good, but too salty for me (and I even used reduced sodium soy sauce) - I would at least cut the salt in half here. I also had a hard time in step 13, getting the tofu over the stuffing. I finally broke down and spread it over with a spatula. But as I said, this was good and was fairly easy to make - my husband even said the crispy parts tasted just like turkey skin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pixelated Vegetarian November 15, 2008
Tofu Turkey Roast (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Vegan )