Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dairy-free / Tofu Turkey Roast (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Vegan ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Turkey Roast (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Vegan )

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2011

      Such a lovely roast. This recipe has made my Thanksgiving the last three years running. The meatheads love it just as much as I do, too. Thanks for this awesome take on tofurkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Really nice and worth the effort. This was my second time making it and I would agree with other reviewers that it's a bit salty- will have to remember that for Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This was so fun to make! Just made it for Christmas dinner. I followed this recipe, taking note of the comments by other reviewers, and put it together using this woman's method: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AD9KmClX1Y . I have to say, I thought it was pretty adorable. I too used more tofu than in the recipe, and omitted agar agar since I didn't have any. The consistency was great and so tasty. For the stuffing I used spelt bread (#130875) which has loads of nuts and seeds in it. My only critique is that the overall taste is quite salty so I would be careful with that 1 tsp of salt, or even omit it all together next time. The picture I've posted was taken after the first baking, which was the night before our dinner. It was great to just throw it into the oven on Xmas day and not have to do anything but baste! Thanks and Happy New Year! UPDATE: made this again Dec 09 and followed your "log" method...like it better! It makes quite a few servings so I was able to cut it into 2 lovely looking roasts for 2 different dinners. It keeps really well. thx again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This is such a great recipe. I have used it for two years in a row and just enjoy it so much. Guests are so surprised that it tastes so good! Thanks so much. The only downside is after freezing one and eating it some weeks later the stuffing was a bit too dry. But other than that, it is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      This was amazing! I tried it at easter for myself and a few vegans. They loved it too. I made 2 smaller ones and froze one for later. Next time I'll make 4. The recipe was a bit time consuming, but very easy to make. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      The tofu never solidified. I cooked it for as long as the recipe calls for + some. The flavor is ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I tried this for the first time. It was easy to make. The bread is wonderful I am get ready to make it again. The tofu was good I would have add a little more salt or something a little bland. The dressing was the best I have had in a long time. I left the mushrooms out and used broccoli. I will be using this one again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      We are new to vegan and did not know what to expect. Overall it went really well. I definitely needed two hands to fold it over and wrap, but it worked out with help. The only things I would change about the recipe is that I would double the "turkey� portion, spicy up the stuffing with some vegetables, dried fruit and nuts and cut the salt to about half as much. Other than that it was a really great first Tofurkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Ok, I'm revising my review. I made this again for thanksgiving. It came out better this time. I didn't try to fold the tofu mix over the stuffing & I used a fraction of the stuffing suggested by the recipe. I used a loaf pan as a mold and flipped it onto the pan. Worked better. Got good reviews at the table and there was only about 1 piece leftover. I found this recipe difficult to work with. I finally gave up trying to wrap the turkey around the stuffing. I put the tofu in a bowl, scooped out some of the tofu then filled the cavity with stuffing. The put the tofu back over the stuffing and turned the bowl over the parchment paper. I liked the flavor, a bit salty but great. I will work with this again because I think that messing with the tofu and the stuffing for so long I incorporated too much of the stuffing with the tofu so it was over combined. Used corn starch over arrowroot, didn't notice much difference there. Used leftovers to make "turkey salad sandwiches".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Good, but too salty for me (and I even used reduced sodium soy sauce) - I would at least cut the salt in half here. I also had a hard time in step 13, getting the tofu over the stuffing. I finally broke down and spread it over with a spatula. But as I said, this was good and was fairly easy to make - my husband even said the crispy parts tasted just like turkey skin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I was pleasantly surprised at how well this turned out and how easy it is to make. I had to make some substitutions to accommodate what I had in my cupboards.I did not have arrowroot, so I subbed 9 tsp of cornstarch. For the sage, thyme and marjoram I subbed 2 tsp of poultry seasoning in both the turkey and stuffing parts. I also subbed tahini for the miso. I had a package of boiled golden mushrooms that I used for the mushrooms in the stuffing. I also did not add any salt, but added some powdered boullion. I made this and it sat uncooked in the fridge for two days and then I cooked it. My husband said that while it did not have the same texture as turkey it did actually taste like turkey. I found that I liked this dish better at room temperature. Thanks for such an easy, and tasty vegetarian meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      Made this for Christmas dinner this year. It was quite good but I think next time I would make a few changes. I think I would like to increase the "turkey" part (tofu) and decrease the "stuffing". I also had too much marinade left over. It looked very impressive though. I served it with Quick and Easy Vegetarian Gravy (#171599). I also didn't cook it ahead of time, and I think that may have been a mistake. The flavors came through much better with the leftovers the next day. I will try this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      I have been making Tofu Turkey for many years now. This Thanksgiving I found this recipe and now it is my favorite! The agar and arrowroot were something I didn't have on hand, and added a bit of expense, but the outcome was well worth it. Throw out all your other Tofurkey recipes, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      My daughter-in law fixed this on thankgiving and we liked it. Being a traditional turkey person. I must say that was the closest thing to turkey we ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Turkey Roast (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Vegan )

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.8
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    58%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 672.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    agar

    vegan chicken bouillon powder

    Braggs Aminos

    gluten-free breadcrumbs

    Braggs Aminos

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes