Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Dairy-free / Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot) - Dairy Free Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot) - Dairy Free

    Average Rating:

    135 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 135

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2007

      Very good and easy Split Pea Soup recipe. I had planned to make this in the crock pot tomorrow, but I had a craving for the soup tonight and didn't have enough time to use the crock pot. I cooked the soup on the stove letting it come to a boil for about 20 minutes and then I let it simmer for about 30 minutes. I had also added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of ham soup base to the hot water and added an extra cup of water to the soup when I turned it down to a simmer. Thanks for the great recipe, Chelie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      Wow...I can't stop eating this delicious soup! I usually hate eating the same thing twice in a row, but not this. I followed the recipe exactly except I cut the amount of seasoned salt to 1/2 tblsp to reduce sodium and used low-fat kielbasa in place of the ham because that is what I had on hand. I cooked for 3 hours on high before I lifted the lid to check the doneness of the peas and to stir. At this point, it was completely done, so I tasted and decided to add about 1 tblsp parsley and 1 tsp McCormick's salt free all purpose seasoning (to make up for the 1/2 tblsp seasoning salt I left out). I also added another clove of garlic at this point(love that garlic). I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours longer on low until we were ready to eat and WOW so so so yummy, warm, and filling. I served with some crusty bread and a baked potato on the side. (I am weird and like to spoon some of my pea soups over a baked potato...I mash it all together...try it once, it's actually very tasty...or maybe I really am just weird) Thank you, chelle for a great dinner and some WELCOME leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      This soup was great. We had extra and froze it in ziplock bags. My husband enjoyed it very much too and he's not a soup guy. I especially like it because it's great on a budget.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      This is really good. I used beef broth instead of water and it came out great. My dad loved it. I will keep this recipe handy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This recipe is very similar to one I usually make in a stock pot. I thought I had perfected the time with that recipe (1 1/2 hrs.), however, how can you beat crockpot time? I used chicken stock instead of water and came home to a very nice soup... Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      Fantastic! I cannot believe how good this was. My husband deemed it the best split pea soup he has ever tasted. I used some leftover honey baked ham, 2 bay leaves, and substituted homemade vegetable stock for the water. I eyeballed the seasoning salt, and should have been more accurate or cut back on it a just a tad because it was the slightest bit too salty for my taste, but no one else noticed and licked their bowls clean. The only other change I made was to ladle 1/3 of the soup into my blender and puree it, then add it back into the rest of the soup. This resulted in the perfect, thick and creamy consistency. Thank you so much for sharing such an easy and absolutely delicious recipe that we will be enjoying often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I just made this, with only a few changes. I used polish sausage, diced tiny, instead of ham. I added more garlic an hour before dinner and didn't use a bay leaf at all. It cooked on high for 5 hours and it had a good texture. I hate peas and beans, so this was just alright for me but my man loves this and wants me to make it again. Thanks Chelle for a great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      I used dried yellow mung beans instead of split peas. They mushed up on their own after 8 hours in the crockpot and made a delicious thick broth. Yummy and healthy; can't beat that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      If anyone likes split pea soup, they sould definitely try this soup! This was so wonderful- my husband said it was one of the best meals he has had in a while! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Yum! Fabulous and easy, my favorite kind of recipe. :) I made it with 1/2 T of salt, all else as directed. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Yum!! Absolutely delicious! Roommates loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Very easy and very yummy! Thank you for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      I found this to be super easy and quite tasty. I probably added less salt that what's called for and I just used regular salt, but it was tasty overall. Too me a few minutes in the morning to prepare and it smelled yummy all the way out to the hall when I got home. I did find that once I took the lid off it got a bit too thick, so I added an extra cup of water to it. I've frozen the rest for later snacking and will probably use this again for my very occassional craving of pea soup. Too bad I didn't know ahead of time that my DH doesn't like pea soup. Oh well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      Very easy and very good. I used turkey ham instead and it still came out great. I did lower the salt to 3/4 and it was ready in 2.5 hours on high for me. I was tempted to make it thicker, but after letting it sit it gets plenty thick. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      Just fantastic!! I loved how easy it was to cook in the crock pot, and the flavor is PERFECT. The only change I made was to double the garlic, just because we love it! Mine took 4 hours on high. Thanks for sharing this new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2006

      Excellent soup and so convenient on a busy day. I made this pretty much as written except that I only used half the salt amount listed. Also, I threw a leftover, meaty ham bone in there. My family really loved this soup and I'll surely be making it again. Thanks for the recipe Chelle :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      Myself and my family really enjoyed this soup - it was very easy to put together and great to come home to! I am very skeptical of recipes on the internet (some have been very disapointing) but I can assure anyone who enjoys pea soup "this recipe is delicious!! Thanks much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Yummy! This is the first time I have tried split pea soup and I'll definitely have it again. We had it with plain bagels and pears on the side. We've eaten it for three days straight and enjoyed it every time! (A real winner in my book.) Thank you again for posting such a simple and delicious recipe. It definitely gets to have a permanent spot in my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      I had never tried split pea, and decided to have a taste once this was done. I am a split pea lover now, due to this recipe. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      This is a good recipe. I cooked on low for 8 1/2 hrs and should not have been surprised to find as much liquid since the 1 1/2 qts of water is what I use when I make this on the stove, hence less evaporation when done in the CP. This is good to use as a reference as one can always adjust to personal taste. I tasted and added 1 tsp. salt and 1 1/2 tsps. All Herb seasoning then added 1 c. elbow macaroni to thicken. Thanks for posting :) I shall definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot) - Dairy Free

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 525.5
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    41%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 36.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1137.8 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.7 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 31.1 g
    124%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 44.4 g
    88%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites