Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Dairy-free / Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot) - Dairy Free Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot) - Dairy Free

    Average Rating:

    135 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 135

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2011

      Very good soup! I made this when my in-laws visited (6 adults) and they all enjoyed the soup! A few things to note for people concerned about the thickness of the soup. After the peas are soft enough to your liking, turn off crock pot, leave open about 15-20mins. Soup will thicken upon standing. If you keep cooking the coup after the peas are soft the soup will darken. There are a few comments about the soup being dark, this is because it was over cooked. Only changes I made was using an extra carrot and stalk of celery. Next time I will use a couple more carrots per personal taste (we love carrots in our soup!). Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      Terrific soup. Just terrific. I didn't have any ham in the freezer, but did put a nice big pork shoulder bone in the pot so got some great flavor from that. I like nice thick pea soup so I only used a quart of water, and I cooked it on high until the peas disintegrated. Absolute perfection. I'm looking forward to taking it for lunches this week. Thanks a mil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Followed this exactly, and let me tell you, what a soup! This was terrific, and you have the reviews to prove it too! I also used left-over spiral ham ~ with large ham bone. I almost didn't even need anything else but the bone, ham, and peas. This is a real gem, and you should try it! Made for Diabetic Healthy Month! 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I've made this many times. I usually make if after buying a spiral cut ham and serving that for dinner. The left over ham on the bone I boil off and use with this soup. I actually sometimes get more than 2 cups of ham in the soup and it's even better :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Great comfort food! I used the recipe as-is except on the stove and not in a crock pot. I used chicken stock and threw in a couple of parsnips and a couple sprigs of fresh thyme. Bring to a boil and simmer slowly for 90 minutes, let cool and reheat before serving with garlic bread. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Very easy and tasty. I had never tried split pea soup before, this was really good. I made exactly as written cooked for 4 1/2 hrs on high then I tasted it and decided it needed one more clove of garlic and a bit more pepper. I also put 1/2 of it in the blender and pureed. I used 1 1/2 qts liquid and I wanted it a bit thicker so I added 2 Tbs instant potato pearls. That did the trick! Thanks, I will definately make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      LOVE this recipe! Seriously some of the best pea soup I've ever had! When I make it I halve the salt (1 tb is too much) and I use a ham hock instead of the diced ham. When the soup is ready I just pull the hock out and add shred some of the meat off of it to add back to the soup. One thing to note is the soup does come out quite thick. I'm planning to add extra stock the next time I make it... we shall see how it turns out! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2014

      Thank you for this wonderful simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      This was absolutely wonderful and so easy! I used chicken broth, a smoked ham shank and diced ham, halved the salt and added a little thyme. After 8 hours I removed the shank, trimmed and added to the soup. I did chop the celery and carrots in my food processor, just a personal preference for a creamy soup. The consistency was perfect, just thick enough. <br/>No more soaking the beans overnight, simmering for 2 hours, adding the next ingredient etc...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      This is super good. I have attempted to make split pea soup several times and they just never come out right, until now. I would have to say this is the best split pea soup I have ever had. I used left over spiral sliced had and through in the bone too. I used broth, which I am sure makes much better flavor than just water. I also cooked it on high for 6 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      A wonderful soup..My whole family loves it..and it's easy peasy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      Yum. yum. yum. yum. yum. DD wolfed it down. I used a hamhock instead of cubed ham, and adobo powder as I had no seasoning salt. Did I mention yum?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      Hubby's a spam fan, so I used that instead of ham. Didn't add any salt. He loved it and so did the 14 yr old grandson. I had nothing left for lunch the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      I thought this tasted good, but it was quite mushy. This was the first time I tasted split pea soup. It's good, but I could take it or leave it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      This was my first time making and tasting Split Pea Soup. This is a tasty, easy meal to make. The one mistake that I did was cook it too long, my soup came out dark.

      I don't know if I like Split Pea Soup enough to make this again but I think fans of Split Pea Soup will like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Great recipe! The only thing I did differently was to blend a bit at the end w/ my hand blender. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      Easy as could be and turned out great. I did have to add some broth after it sat in the fridge because it got very thick but then it was perfect again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      Easy and delicious! This is the perfect base split pea and ham recipe I was looking for to use with my crock pot. After reading all the reviews regarding the thickness of this recipe, I was hooked because I personally love my split pea and ham very, very thick. I omitted the celery, but decided to add a dash of celery seed that I had on hand. I only used a 1/2 teaspoon of salt, which was plenty with the additional salt from the ham. I also like on my personal portions more black pepper and sometimes some ground cloves, but I wouldn't add more pepper or the cloves to the batch. The only 'issue' I had was that at 10 hours on low the split peas were still not soft enough. I ended up cooking it on low for 16 hours! Next time, I am definitely going to plan for cooking it on the high option for 5 hours. At the 12th hour, I couldn't believe how un-thick it was based on my expectations from reviews. At this point I realized, in my infinite wisdom, that I had misrepresented the split peas! I didn't have a pre-sized 16 oz pacakge because I had bought in bulk. I measured out 2 cups when I put the soup together. However, 2 cups of split peas does not equal 16 oz of spit peas. One measurement is based on weight; the other on volume. So, a 16 oz package of split peas is actually equivalent to 2 1/4 cups. I cooked up another 1/4 cup on the stove, using liquid partially from the soup & partially new water, for 45 minutes to add to the soup. Once I added this thick addition, and another 1-2 hours went by, the soup ended up as thick as mashed potatoes! Which, I absolutely love. But it's hard for me to comment on how thick the end result is when the recipe is done properly. I'm sure I'll find out soon though because I can't stop eating this soup! Either way, the thickness is versatile - you can tweak it according to your preference fairly easily, if need be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      I loved this pea soup recipe. I think it tasted just like Campbell's! The only thing I did different was I used mostly ham broth and I used lovage instead of celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      Split pea is one of my favorite soups--the recipes i've used over the year are similar, but this one is what I will use from now on! I had never added garlic before--that makes a huge difference. I used Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute as the seasoned salt and cut it back to 1 tsp. Yummy beyond words!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot) - Dairy Free

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 525.5
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    41%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 36.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1137.8 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.7 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 31.1 g
    124%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 44.4 g
    88%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes