Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dairy-free / Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Tuna Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Tuna Casserole

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2012

      This was delicious! I can't have dairy, so this was excellent! It felt good to make tuna casserole from scratch. I usually make the tuna helper...lol. My husband I don't like mushrooms, so I substituted a cup of celery. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Yum!! My husband is very picky when it comes to gluten-free dishes and he loved this. He got thirds! I did make two substitutions to accommodate my daughter's food allergies (egg, wheat, and dairy). I used Quinoa pasta and substitute the mayonnaise with Grapeseed oil Veganiase.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      This recipe is amazing! I have actually used the sauce to make a GFDF Tator Tot casserole as well, and it was so good my family requested it two nights in a row. Thank you for giving this GFDF girl some real comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      We had this for dinner tonight. Both kids have deemed it "yummy!" My husband says that this is even better than my old recipe, which was full of cream soup, milk and cheese. Since I developed a dairy allergy I've been really missing tuna casserole! I had to make a few changes to accommodate what I had - I used regular wheat tri-color fusilli, ordinary lite mayo instead of olive oil, and I used a dozen saltines crushed on top instead of bread crumbs. Oh, and I used vegetable broth because that's what I had in the fridge. Next time we make this (and there will be many next times), I'm going to saute some diced celery with the onion and mushroom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I was looking for a GFDF variation of the classic tuna casserole that I fondly remember from when I could eat gluten and dairy. This recipe is it! It exceeded my expectations of a mere reasonable facsimile, and I dare say it's better than the "regular" version! I made a couple minor changes, adding 1/4 c.nutritional yeast flakes to the sauce and a teaspoon of Tabasco sauce. I also omitted the bread crumbs and used no-salt crushed potato chips on top instead. Yum! Thanks for the great recipe. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      I joined just to write a review on this recipe! It was fabulous! I recently had to go dairy free for my nursing baby. I did change a few things...we do not have a gluten allergy so I used whole wheat penne pasta, I put 1 cup of peas instead of 1/2 cup and 1 cup of onions instead of 1/2 cup. I topped with panko crumbs instead of bread crumbs. Wow, it was awesome. My husband and I both went back for seconds. This recipe is better than other recipes with cheese. The sauce in this is to die for! Thanks for a great meal option!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      This recipe was fantastic!!! I feel that I am very picky when it comes to my gluten free/ dairy free food and this tasted delicious! I did do a few things differently .. I used veganaise for the "mayo" and I also put 1 cup of Daiya (dairy free cheese) in with the mushroom mixture and it was SO GOOD! highly reccomend it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      This recipe is a miracle! I needed something that was wheat-free, dairy-free, and egg-free for my picky toddler. I used fake mayo to make it egg-free, and I used Tinyada brown rice noodles (partially cooked first) to make it wheat-free. This was seriously delicious! I'm wondering if I could also use the mayo trick to make a decent chicken pot pie; every time I try to make one with rice milk or almond milk, it comes out too watery. This mixture for the tuna casserole thickened right up and it tasted like the real thing. I used canned salmon instead of tuna because I try to limit my daughter's tuna intake. It was still awesome. I also added chopped celery because another reviewer mentioned it and it sounded like a good idea. I will definitely make this again, and I will share it with all of my friends!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2014

      Just made it, and it was AWESOME! Added a very small amount of mustard and bit more mayonnaise to make it taste more cheesy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2014

      Everyone LOVED this dish, kids and adults alike! A couple of small changes, but not major... I used leeks instead of onions and added a little fresh garlic. Also added a little garlic powder and nutritional yeast to the bread crumbs for a bit of a cheesy flavour... WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2014

      This recipe is the most requested by my kids. And mind you, my kids are SUPER picky, not gluten or dairy free. I've just recently started omitting gluten and dairy from my diet but kids still eat whatever. I made this for dinner one night and the kids LOVED it. Now they ask for it all the time. It's SO yummy! I plan on making the sauce for other dishes. I think this would be great with chicken as well. I substituted Red Palm Oil for the olive oil so my dish always comes out with this beautiful golden-yellow color. This is my go to "in a bind for dinner" recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      Oops... forgot to give it a rating.. my first time posting a comment. Five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Pretty darn good for a dairy free recipe. I did not make this gluten and soy free, but we are dairy free due to a family food allergy. The only thing I think I will try to change next year is to add a small jar of pimentos. I feel like the dish could benefit from the sweetness and this would also make it more colorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      I am about to try a variation of this... but just wanted to say that the Olive Oil Mayo bought in stores isn't soy-free. Soybean oil is used more than the Olive in the recipe. FYI :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Very tasty and fun to make. The only changes I made were the use of brown rice flour, wheat pasta, light mayo, and homemade breadcrumbs Soft Bread Crumbs because I had them on hand. Thanks, UmmBinat! Made for Aussie New Zealand Make My Recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Tuna Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.6
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    50%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 24.9 mg
    8%
    Sodium 503.2 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brown rice pasta

    olive oil mayonnaise

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes