16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious! I can't have dairy, so this was excellent! It felt good to make tuna casserole from scratch. I usually make the tuna helper...lol. My husband I don't like mushrooms, so I substituted a cup of celery. I will definitely make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mellyelliott1980 January 14, 2012

Yum!! My husband is very picky when it comes to gluten-free dishes and he loved this. He got thirds! I did make two substitutions to accommodate my daughter's food allergies (egg, wheat, and dairy). I used Quinoa pasta and substitute the mayonnaise with Grapeseed oil Veganiase.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbie1504 July 12, 2011

This recipe is amazing! I have actually used the sauce to make a GFDF Tator Tot casserole as well, and it was so good my family requested it two nights in a row. Thank you for giving this GFDF girl some real comfort food!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyncynh January 18, 2011

We had this for dinner tonight. Both kids have deemed it "yummy!" My husband says that this is even better than my old recipe, which was full of cream soup, milk and cheese. Since I developed a dairy allergy I've been really missing tuna casserole! I had to make a few changes to accommodate what I had - I used regular wheat tri-color fusilli, ordinary lite mayo instead of olive oil, and I used a dozen saltines crushed on top instead of bread crumbs. Oh, and I used vegetable broth because that's what I had in the fridge. Next time we make this (and there will be many next times), I'm going to saute some diced celery with the onion and mushroom!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seedbeads March 22, 2010

I was looking for a GFDF variation of the classic tuna casserole that I fondly remember from when I could eat gluten and dairy. This recipe is it! It exceeded my expectations of a mere reasonable facsimile, and I dare say it's better than the "regular" version! I made a couple minor changes, adding 1/4 c.nutritional yeast flakes to the sauce and a teaspoon of Tabasco sauce. I also omitted the bread crumbs and used no-salt crushed potato chips on top instead. Yum! Thanks for the great recipe. Definitely a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Peas November 04, 2009

I joined just to write a review on this recipe! It was fabulous! I recently had to go dairy free for my nursing baby. I did change a few things...we do not have a gluten allergy so I used whole wheat penne pasta, I put 1 cup of peas instead of 1/2 cup and 1 cup of onions instead of 1/2 cup. I topped with panko crumbs instead of bread crumbs. Wow, it was awesome. My husband and I both went back for seconds. This recipe is better than other recipes with cheese. The sauce in this is to die for! Thanks for a great meal option!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Proudmommyof2sweetpeas February 25, 2013

This recipe was fantastic!!! I feel that I am very picky when it comes to my gluten free/ dairy free food and this tasted delicious! I did do a few things differently .. I used veganaise for the "mayo" and I also put 1 cup of Daiya (dairy free cheese) in with the mushroom mixture and it was SO GOOD! highly reccomend it :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xhannerzx July 20, 2012

This recipe is a miracle! I needed something that was wheat-free, dairy-free, and egg-free for my picky toddler. I used fake mayo to make it egg-free, and I used Tinyada brown rice noodles (partially cooked first) to make it wheat-free. This was seriously delicious! I'm wondering if I could also use the mayo trick to make a decent chicken pot pie; every time I try to make one with rice milk or almond milk, it comes out too watery. This mixture for the tuna casserole thickened right up and it tasted like the real thing. I used canned salmon instead of tuna because I try to limit my daughter's tuna intake. It was still awesome. I also added chopped celery because another reviewer mentioned it and it sounded like a good idea. I will definitely make this again, and I will share it with all of my friends!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Vah Vah May 23, 2012

So delicious! I will be making this again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 24, 2015

Just made it, and it was AWESOME! Added a very small amount of mustard and bit more mayonnaise to make it taste more cheesy. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy B. September 18, 2014
Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Tuna Casserole