8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these this afternoon and were very tasty. I used brown sugar instead of white, and it tasted like a fluffy graham cracker. We also used light dairy free margarine which may be why they turned out fluffy. The only real negative I have about this recipe is they fell apart into crumbles. They definitely needed 1 tsp of xanthan gum. Very happy to have found a recipe that is gluten free and vegan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckers68 February 11, 2012

These are amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and they taste just like Toll House cookies to me. I even shared some with other food allergenic friends and they all gave great feedback. I'm at high elevation, so they did flatten out quite a bit but they were soft and did not crumble as others have reported. I used Earth Balance for the butter, and Enjoy Life Foods mini chocolate chips. I also bought brown rice flour in bulk at the natural foods store. Hopefully this will help identify ingredients by brand. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Travis H. May 10, 2013

I love these! Used King Arthur gluten-free multi-purpose flour in place of the plain rice flour. Didn't find the batter to be runny. Used 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips and it was plenty. Also, I didn't have parchment paper so I just baked them on an ungreased cookie sheet & they came out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missverus January 26, 2012

These were okay, better than most of the other GF recipes I've tried. The batter was too runny so I added 1/2 cup of oats. Very crumbly and a little dry unless you got a mouthful of chocolate chips. I've been looking for a recipe to adapt for cinnamon raisin cookies (my fav!) instead of chocolate chip, but I don't think this is the one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xinalynn August 25, 2011

Made these today and they are amazing! They are some of the best chocolate chip cookies I've made, wheat/dairy/egg or no! They raised just right (and I'm even at high altitude), and were crispy but not hard. I used 1/4 cup shortening and 1/4 cup vegan spread. For flour I used 1/2 c. brown rice flour, 1/2 c. millet flour, and 1/4 c. chickpea flour. Definitely let them cool for 5 minutes before removing them from the pan, or they will crumble, but once they cool they're perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wemfree August 16, 2011

This is a great gluten free, egg free, dairy free recipe. Even my picky husband loved them and said he couldn't tell a difference. We make them to freeze for my girls to take to special events where they won't be able to have the treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tweedfamilyof4 May 05, 2010

Yay finally! thank you for posting this. my daughter has an egg allergy (finally outgrown the milk allergy) and you have no idea how many choc chip cookie recipes i have tried only for them to taste odd or crumble apart. these are awesome.. soft chewy and very easy to make. i did use reg butter and all purpose flour so that defeats the dairy and wheat free concept but egg free fits our bill perfect! will def be making again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caffeine_queen_ak January 26, 2010

My 3yr old son is allergic to nuts, dairy and egg. I have been searching for a good choc chip cookie recipe that would please even my husband who has no food allergies and this is it!! We just made the cookies together, including my picky 8 yr old and we all love them!! Thanks, Monica

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grrrr29 February 22, 2009
Egg-Free, Wheat-Free, Dairy-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies