10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are 5 star in my book! These looked, felt, and tasted like regular pancakes. I made them egg free using ener-g egg replacer. I also substituted corn starch because I didn't have potato starch. I substituted xantham gum because I didn't have guar gum. I thought the 2 cups of liquid seemed a little much. I started with 1 cup of water, and then ended up adding another 1/2 cup of rice milk. These were excellent. Will definitely be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anozira86 November 24, 2012

I really liked these pancakes. I followed the recipe except instead of adding potato starch, I added cornstarch. (I didn't have the potato starch.). I also added some ground flax and chia seeds. I was afraid I would never be able to have anything gluten-free that tasted good. These were really good. The kids didn't even ask for syrup. Which is always a plus in my book.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mobygrape July 30, 2012

Yes, definitely five stars! I used brown rice flour and substituted the potato starch with sweet rice flour, and I used egg iin it. Also I used honey instead of the brown sugar. They turned out wonderful. I had them with syrup made of a little honey, rose water and water - delicious! Thanks for posting! Made for Ramadan Tag 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany September 09, 2010

I have found that texture is the hardest part of GF cooking to perfect. This recipe nails it! I used Bob's Red Mill Brown Rice Flour and the texture is lovely. The only thing I found a little lacking in this recipe is flavor - it is a little bland. I will make these again, but I will add vanilla or pumpkin or something. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MotherEd February 07, 2015

We used 2T crushed flax seeds + 1/3 C water as egg replacement, used 3T applesauce w/ cinnamon instead of oil and added blueberries. We also used 3/4 C water and 3/4 C rice milk rather than what was printed based on posted reviews. They were delicious! Everyone in our family enjoyed them (syrup-free!). Thanks for posting what has quickly become our new favorite pancake recipe UmmBinat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buschways May 02, 2013

I have another GF/CF recipe that I use, but it's more involved. I tried this, but made a few changes. I was concerned about the large amount of water and eggs. So, I doubled the recipe, but used 3 eggs and 2 C water, sorghum flour, 4 T Sucanat, and coconut oil. They made 20 (3-inch) pancakes that everyone liked. Thanks for another easy GF/CF pancake recipe - I might try using rice milk instead of water next time too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead June 06, 2010

I had my doubts using rice flour and all that but these were sooo good! I served them with mashed bananas and cream :-) Made for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iceland May 25, 2010

These were excellent for a regular pancake replacement. The first time I made them as directed but the next batch I took some liberties and used coconut oil in replacement of the grapeseed oil, added 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 cup of raw sugar, oh and we are egg free so I used Ener-g egg replacer and then added sliced bananas to each after they were on the griddle. All I can say is our family enjoyed these for dessert (they taste a lot like crepes) and no one mentioned they tasted GF/DF/egg free which is huge for this picky family. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe January 06, 2010

As I said, I'd let you know how these went over at our Pancake supper.They were perfect for those having dietary needs. Both the celiacs and the lactose intolerant people loved them-and felt more included in the event. There was even a "fight" over who got to take the leftovers home-they all got a few!!! I have promised to make up some of the dry mix so they can make them at home for themselves.Thanks for sharing UmmBinat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baroth2 March 02, 2009

I havent done this yet but my daughter has multiple allergies!!! So i am going to do this for her she has never had pancakes because i could never find the right one Thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristal1203 January 22, 2009
Delicious Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free Pancakes