8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This smelled wonderful coming out of the oven and tasted just as good! I used egg replacer instead of one of the eggs and reduced the sugar slightly. Moist and light texture. I got one 9" round and 6 cupcakes, the round taking 25 min. to bake and 20 min. for the cupcakes. This is a recipie to keep and share!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktorichan October 06, 2007

Wonderful, moist cake! My son loved it (he has all the allergies). I added raisins and made a coconut icing to compliment it which was a good choice. For coconut icing (dairy and sugar free go to Elana's Pantry for the recipe). I replaced the sugar with 3/4 cup of agave syrup, which reduces the sugar significantly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hgravel October 18, 2008

Lots of kumquats from our trees so we turned this into kumquat cake by substituting kumquat parts (sans seeds) that I cut up in the foot processor until it resembled the consistency of applesauce. Also substituted xanthan gum for guar gum and used an "on-hand" gluten free flour mix. Result was wonderful! Think this recipe will become a regular start off point for other creations.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daytonajill August 06, 2011

I made these into muffins and they were great. Even my gluten eating husband enjoyed them! Thanks What's Cooking-
Roxygirl

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado January 31, 2011

Outstanding. I changed it quite a bit (sorry it annoys me when people do this and still review it but I can't help it!) I only used 1 cup brown rice flour and added 1/2 cup almond flour. Used Siagon cinnamon and increased it to 1 1/2 tsp. Added 1 tsp ginger and 1/4 tsp cloves. Best cake ever! Everyone at my house loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missah78 June 17, 2010

Made this bread for my kids and they loved it. Never thought you'd hear me say this, doesn't taste gluten free.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandidt April 05, 2009

This excellent cake had wonderful texture and taste. If you didn't share that this was gluten free, no one would know! I think the addition of golden raisins would be very nice as well. I used xantham gum instead of guar gum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zepharum December 06, 2006

DD (toddler) likes this. I guess its my fault that it turned out dense for us because I used a different size pan or maybe totally because my oven is wacky. The flavour is pretty tasty though but I wont make this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat October 20, 2009
Applesauce Molasses Cake - Low-Fat, Dairy-Free & Gluten-Free